Photographs and what secrets they can hold…

Whoever said a photograph is worth 1000 words, I think was wong. I think a photograph is priceless and can open up so much information in researching your family tree.

I stumbled upon a photograph on ancestry.ca of a random lady and I just knew looking at the face in the picture, she was some relationship. The similarity to certain facial features on my Grandpa, was just dead on. It lead me down a path to trace some much of my grandpa’s family.

If one is interested in genetics, it helps to narrow what side of the family those features are from.

I have a photograph of my great great grandparents as young parents with one of their children but comparing that photograph to the one I have of them as grandparents, some similarities are there but one would not even think they are the same people in a way.

I was lucky enough one summer to visit a small rural museum that holds family pictures of my great great great grandparents and their children. Seeing the similarities in the faces to relatives today, just creatives such a personal connection.

I feel like looking at the expressions in the pictures, just creatives a desire to know what they were thinking. To me photographs are like the family stories, they can hold so much information.

Thanks for reading

ancestrychick

Leave a comment