Unique gift ideas for the genealogist or history lover in your family

I thought I would post some suggestions for gift ideas for the history or genealogist lover as the holiday season is fast approaching.

1. Family Tree Chart- this is a chart usually that one can fill out themselves and have a chart in the end that traces one lineage.

Here is a link to one that I myself would like: Family Tree Chart  -this one is relatively inexpensive

2. Ancestry membership this could be great for someone wanting to start researching their family tree and even for someone with an account already to help them continue to research or upgrade to have more access to records.

Here is the link to AncestryAncestry Canada(there are different country versions, make sure you pick the right country)

3. Continuing with the membership idea, Membership in a local historical or genealogical society. Most of these are not that pricey and not always something someone would get for themselves. There is no link here as they are some many different ones, so I suggest researching yourself for one.

4. Subscription to a history or genealogical magazine- this can be a middle of road for price but again not something most people would get for themselves. Here is a few I would recommend:

Canada’s History Magazine– this a magazine that has been around for number years and is very well-known. It was formerly called the beaver. I would highly recommend this magazine as great source for Canadian history.

Family Tree Magazine– I have picked up a few copies of this magazine, It does tend to be more US-based but does hold some good tips etc for researching family trees.

5. Books- I work in the library field so books are a given for me on any gift list. I would recommend finding out what history your giftee is interested in and maybe checked out some recommended book lists such as Canada’s History 2013 Book and Gift Guide. For the genealogist I would recommend finding out if there is a family history book or maybe book about a specific area that their ancestors are from. A site I would recommend is Global Genealogy- they have books from all over and they also do sell other genealogy related stuff.

6. Family Tree Software-I purchased for myself Ancestry Family Tree Maker in particular because it can do reports etc and it links with my ancestry account so it make it easier than having to start from the beginning again. Here is a link to information about Family Tree Maker

Hope this gives some good ideas

As always thanks for reading

ancestrychick

2 responses »

  1. Very nice list. Perhaps I will print it off and put it where my wife will find it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment